So, You Want to Make Protein Pancakes Like a Pro?

Good Morning! It’s Sunday and I had a reasonable night yesterday (sushiiii with friends). Guess what that means – healthy breakfast in the morninggg!*

Since I recently came back from vacation in the South of France, I didn’t have many options in regard to food left in the kitchen. But what says Sunday morning better than…pancakes!

(Excuse me while I do a little dance…)

Alas, here is what I came up with, which isn’t too bad for improvising:

20120909-151819.jpg

    • Organic Coconut Oil (in this case, it won’t hurt if it’s not organic – that’s just me boasting)
    • Chocolate Whey Protein Isolate (1.5 scoops)
    • Pinch of cinnamon
    • 3 Free-range eggs (2 w/ egg whites only)
    • Chia seeds (go as crazy as you want)
    • Oats or Oat Bran (1/2 cup)
    • A splash of Unsweetened Almond Milk
    • Some water to a good consistency
    • Endless amounts of love (vital ingredient, as it’s the only way to accept it for what it is…)
    • **For a better taste, PLEASE add a smashed banana into the pancake mix…and some berries/greek yogurt to top it off.

Then do a little dance and mix it all together in a bowl, pour it into a frying pan at medium-high heat and wait for it to start looking like a pancake (i.e. doesn’t jiggle but also doesn’t look like a brick). Et voila!

Not too bad, right? All the health foodies (I claim to be one of them but I haven’t leveled up to Pro status, yet), would totally approve of this combination. Despite my ‘mad skillz’ working the spatula, this is the first product of my pancake voyage:

Yeah. Sorry. But before you lose your appetite, continue reading!

I’m not known to give up that easily (too curious), so I tried until a charming third time in which even the pancake itself agreed that I came up with something magical:

🙂 face indeed, Mr. Pancake! You magnificent giant…

So those of you who aren’t impressed simply by an edible, smiling circle might want to know how it tastes? Well…let’s just say it was the best tasting chocolate cardboard I have ever had, hands down.

Once you’re done drooling ( o_O ), feel free to try it out yourself and let me know what you think!

*UPDATE: Bonus – High Fibre Pancakes!*

Maybe the above pancakes didn’t do it for you. That’s okay – they’re an acquired taste (healthy eating is never easy, but we all know it’s worth it). I was messing around with some whole wheat pancake mix I brought back with me from the US and discovered this treasure:

20120910-222302.jpg
(Before)

20120910-222339.jpg
(After)

Made these with similar ingredients to the protein giant, except instead of three eggs, I used one whole egg and replaced the other two eggs with 3/4 cup of whole wheat pancake mix. Also, I used whole oats instead of oat bran. Yet, what makes this is the organic blueberries and banana slices.

Almost as good as a crêpe and a smile, don’t you think? 😉

Or, if you think mine are horrible (*cries*), these look pretty darn good: More attractive protein pancakes.

____________________________________________________________________________________________
*I sometimes like to drag on the last letter of a word so that it sounds like I’m singing it. Just in case you were worried my key got stuck or something weird like that.

4 thoughts on “So, You Want to Make Protein Pancakes Like a Pro?

  1. I tried them today as a post-workout meal and they are marvelous (though having a proper non-stick pan would make my life easier)! Tip: try oats with flavors (those in the sachets). Today I tried the golden syrup and next time I’ll try the apple and blueberry. To spice it up (if one doesn’t care for some extra mass), it would be also awesome with some nutella and bananas on top (makes a dynamite breakfast)! Thanks for the recipe and keep it up!
    Nikos

Leave a comment